AGLIO, OLIO E PEPERONCINO VIVA STYLE

I was working on my blog or should I say trying to figure out how to post and add pictures. I must have tried 100 times and now I can say with confidence that I am still an amature regarding blogging. Oh well!!! I guess with persistence I will learn. Last night after struggling over my blog for hours, I realized that I did not have anything ready for dinner. Time on clock; 5:30 pm and within an hour the family was going to pour in one by one. I dashed to my fridge and to see not much was in it. Onion, sun dried tomatoes, a hand full of grape tomatoes, arugula, garlic (in an Italian kitchen it is a sin not to have garlic, garlic is sacred), some white wine, chives and a few roasted red peppers that I had made for Easter. Another dash to the spice cabinet to make sure I had salt and pepper check, hot chili pepper check. I had olive oil, but did I have spaghetti? Linguine will be just fine. Okay! I knew with these few ingredients I was able to create something. Don’t you love it when you got to cook under pressure? There is an Italian recipe from Abruzzo region called “Aglio, olio e peperoncino” garlic, oil and chili peppers. It is a traditional pasta dish popular across the country of Italy and it has only three ingredients garlic, oil, chili peppers and it is very simple to do. It is a recipe you do when you have really nothing in the fridge. However, I will add other ingredients to the original recipe and this way it will look like I slaved over the stove for hours.

INGREDIENTS (serves 4)

500 g of linguine or spaghetti

1/4 cup olive oil

1 onion chopped

1 tablespoon of chili hot pepper flakes (if you like it spicy add more)

a hand full of grape tomatoes (that is all I had)

1 roasted red pepper

4-6 sun dried tomatoes without oil

3 cloves of garlic minced

1 glass of white wine

1 tablespoon of fresh chives

Prepare the ingredients; cut in two the grape tomatoes, slice the roasted red pepper, chop onions, mince garlic, cut up sun dried tomatoes, cut chives and sit aside. Add water and salt in a large pot and bring to a boil. Once the water is boiling add pasta and cook according to package.

Heat 1/2 cup of olive oil in frying pan. Add onion and fry until tender. This will take about 3 minutes.

Add peperoncino (hot chili pepper). The peperoncino will infuse the spicy flavour with the onion and olive oil.

Now it is the time to add the grape tomatoes and stir well.

Add the roasted red peppers (if you do not have home-made roasted pepper the ones in the jar are fine, but make sure they are without vinegar. I will post at a later date how to make roasted red peppers).

At this point add the sun dried tomatoes. The sun dried tomatoes have a very intense flavour don’t put to many in the sauce.

Garlic is the last solid ingredients and the reason is because I don’t want the garlic over cook it.

This is the best part of cooking Italian Style; it is the wine. It will give tasty and yet firm flavour to the sauce. Add one glass of wine and let evaporate.  Make sure you have a glass of wine for yourself. Chin! Chin!

Add the chives and stir. Shut off the heat and remove pan from cooking element. You do not want the sauce to over cook.

Before starting your sauce, add water and salt to a large pot. Once the water is boiling add linguine or spaghetti pasta. Cook pasta according to package. I know, I’ve said this at the begining of the recipe, but since I had this photo I liked and since I needed to pratice with media, I decided to put it in.

Mix pasta with sauce and place in serving dish, add arugula. Arugula has a peppery taste which gives a bite. Add some grated pecorino or parmesan cheese. And there you have it! What could I say? One more delicious recipe done with simple ingredients. The recipe is so simple and fast  to do. What take the longest is preparing the ingredients. Once you have the ingredients ready, you just add one ingredient at the time, stir after each ingredients is added and by the time the pasta is ready, your sauce will be cooked. My family enjoyed it so much that I decided to share the recipe with you.

BUON APPETITO!

2 thoughts on “AGLIO, OLIO E PEPERONCINO VIVA STYLE

  1. Maria Saracino

    Spaghetti con alio e olio was a standard at our house and a great quick dish to serve unexpected company – one of my relatives always had a pocket full of fresh hot pepperoncini and cuticle scissors in his pocket to cut up the peppers over the pasta. I think I’ll make some tonight.

    1. I think every family has a relative with peperoncini in his pocket. Domenic’s (husband) cousin was one. He knew I enjoyed spicy food and whenever we were invited at the same wedding he would come up and gave me a peperoncino. The recipe is simple, but I do have to say explosive in flavour!!! Enjoy!!!

Leave a Reply

